Chip Fairy

Hello kids! I hope you are having a great day.

I know I promised a recipe and I will deliver, but first you will have to tolerate the back story.

P.S. and I’m known to be long-winded. :)

So, a few weeks ago I developed some chip envy that I’d been seeing on blogs I follow. First, I was jealous that I’d never heard of PopChips. Then, when I looked for them at my regular grocery as well as Whole Foods, I wasn’t able to find them.

I don’t give up that easily, so I emailed the company telling them that I was dying to try their chips and wondered if they were stocked anywhere locally. Completely normal, right?

The PopChip team was more than helpful, they were amazing! Not only did I receive a lengthy email with a complete list of stores in my area that carry PopChips, they also offered to send me some samples to review. Sounds like a win-win to me.

By the time the package arrived, I had already picked up the BBQ and Salt ‘N’ vinegar flavors at my local Cub Foods. It was love at first chomp people. The BBQ chips, they were so crunchy and flavorful, with the perfect balance of sweet and smoke. EJ and I polished off the entire bag within 2 days, yet I didn’t feel a wink of guilt because the nutritional stats (for chips) were stellar! :)

I was more than a little hesitant to try the Salt ‘N’ Vinegar flavor, because I like to consider myself a connoisseur. This is my dad’s favorite and I’d like to believe that he loved them before they were cool. That being said, the SnV PopChips were good and I would definitely buy them, but they weren’t the best I’d ever had.

Check out the ADORABLE packaging!

When the package arrived, I immediately saw a new flavor, Salt ‘N’ Pepper. I was intrigued and knew I didn’t want to waste such an interesting flavor on my 4pm snack attack. These puppies are good, like I wanted to dive into the bag and roll around in them good. Such a simple and subtle addition, but the chips had a ton of flavor. I savored a few and then decided to use them in a recipe I’d been meaning to try.

Salt ‘N’ Pepper PopChips Crusted Baked Chicken (that is a mouthful)
Version 1
Ingredients

  • 1/4 cup of Fat-free Ranch (Hidden Valley is the only fat-free ranch that will pass my lips)
  • 1 boneless & skinless chicken breast
  • 1 – 1.5 ounces of Salt ‘N’ Pepper PopChips crushed
Version 2
Ingredients
  • 1 1/2 tbsp of Dijon mustard
  • 1/2 tbsp balsamic vinegar
  • 1 tsp of honey
  • 1 tsp olive oil (Combine first 4 ingredients)
  • 1 boneless & skinless chicken breast
  • 1 – 1.5 ounces of Salt ‘N’ Pepper PopChips crushed
Instructions
  • Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
  • Pat the chicken breasts dry with a paper towel (This will help them absorb the liquid and crust)
  • Place chips into a Ziploc bag and either with a kitchen masher or your mists crush up the chips. (I combined the original and salt’n’pepper to get the volume I needed)
  • Transfer crushed chips to a bowl to await their new chicken friend.
  • Season the chicken with pepper and salt, if desired.
  • Coat each chicken in the desired liquid on both sides, try to cover evenly.
  • Transfer the breast to the bowl of crushed PopChips and cover completely with chips.
  • Lightly mist a small nonstick baking sheet with olive oil spray
  • Place coated chicken on the prepared baking sheet. (I would also recommend using a wire rack on top of the baking sheet)
  • Repeat with the remaining chicken breast. Discard any remaining marinade.
  • Bake for 30 minutes
  • Enjoy

It was heavenly. The chips held up so much better than breadcrumbs or panko. This will be my new go-to for “breading” chicken or meat in general, although I need to invest in a wire rack to go on my baking sheet because the bottom of the chicken while flavorful was soggy.

I served our chicken with a Mediterranean couscous concoction, that was also amazing. I finely diced some cucumbers and TJ’s roasted red peppers and topped the couscous with some reduced fat blue cheese. Our other side was steamed green beans. It was a wonderful and colorful dinner and as I mentioned last night, EJ was in over the moon for this meal.

As for the other flavors that we’ve tried, EJ and I loved the sour cream and onion, again the crunch makes the chip because the flavors are really similar to the Lay’s Baked! sour cream and onion but the thickness and crunch make the PopChips the winner. Even EJ loved them (he devoured most of the .8 ounce bag) so they must have been good. :)

I was not in any way paid to give PopChips a good review and if I didn’t like a product or a particular flavor, I would let you guys know. I still have the cheddar chips to try, but I’m thinking they deserve a special recipe as well. I’m thinking the HEAB “mac’n’cheese” with a little twist. Perhaps this weekend.

Hope you enjoy the recipe!

7 thoughts on “Chip Fairy

  1. Mmmmmm….I am salivating. Hoping you can pick me up some Popchips. What is the nutritional info on the chips?? I am all over both the chicken and couscous!!!! Thanks for the great recipes. PS I love the long-winded back stories!!

    • Um per serving they are very similar to baked chips (100 calories, 3 grams of Fat, sodium varies but isn’t bad and 1 gram of fiber.)

      Glad you like the recipes, seriously never using breadcrumbs again it was so good.

      Sent from my iPhone

  2. That looks great. I love the idea of using the crushed chips as a flavorful coating! And I just found your blog and really like it. Wanted to introduce myself. :) I’m Tina from Faith, Fitness, Fun.

  3. Leanne- First, let me say that I love your blog! I became addicted when I read my first entry “humble pie”. Throughout the work week, I have caught up on the other entries and have been eager for new posts. You should be happy to know, you have inspired me. I love food, cooking, and fitness but I too am guilty of letting life get in the way at times. Thanks for the inspiration!

    And to comment (finally) on your post about PopChips -amazing! Ben picked them up about a month ago and, like you said, love at first chip!

    Anyway, I mainly just wanted to say thanks for taking the time to write about your food/training journies. I really enjoy them. :)

    Leah

    • Leah!!!! It has been way too long. I’m so glad you are entertained by my lil’ blog. It is a wonderful creative outlet. It is really easy to let your passions slip away when you start growing up and taking on real responsibilities but making sure to find some “me” time every day helps keep me sane.

      Can’t wait to see you in August!

  4. I’m so impressed the PopChips didn’t get soggy when you baked them in the chicken recipe. I think I’m the only blogger that has yet to try them, but that meal has me wanting to drive to the store right now and buy a bag! And yes, I think the cheddar version would be amazing in some mac ‘n cheese! :)

    Enjoy your weekend!

Leave a Reply

