Hello World!

After stalking religiously following a number of truly amazing bloggers for the past year and a half, I decided to give it a try myself. I have been introduced to so many healthy recipes, workouts, and mantras this past year and I hope I can give back to the community that helped me while sharing my journey to a healthier and more balanced lifestyle.

Why Glorious Greens? To be honest, a friend helped me come up with it. Would you have preferred LeannimalEats? I didn’t think so. Basically, I love spinach and trying to find new recipes that I can work my leafy friends into.

My story isn’t unique, but I figure it is a great way to get this blog started. Last year, I started my MBA on top of a full-time job and somehow lost the balance in my life. My love for healthy cooking and working out took a backseat to simply surviving. I woke up one day, unhappy and completely deflated and knew I needed to make a change. I recommitted to making my health a priority and I am happy to say that I’m at the halfway point to my goal. While my goal does involve a number, I am more focused on feeling comfortable in my own skin and fitting into my own clothes again.

I am not sure what will come of this blog or how good I will be at photographing my food creations, but I have a lot to say and I hope that I can give support to others who are going through the same or similar struggles.

Disclaimer: I am by no means a professional writer and I’m fairly ADD (no seriously) and at times I forget words. Excited, yet?

4 thoughts on “Hello World!

  1. HAHAHAHA I loooove LeannimalEats! Hilarious. Glorious Greens is pretty apropo too though 😉 I’ve started planning out our meals for dinner, so keep the recipes coming!

  2. Congratulations little one! I am proud that you are healthy and that you are passionate about sharing your love of greens and such! I made a WeightWatchers salad this weekend that was good, but I think I’ll tweak it next time. Here it is:
    Welcome, Susan!
    POINTS® Value: 1
    Servings: 8
    Preparation Time: 15 min
    Cooking Time: 0 min
    Level of Difficulty: Easy

    This fruity spin on slaw is delicious. Buy the season’s best apples and, for convenience, a bag of precut, thickly shredded carrots.

    Ingredients

    2 large apple(s), 1 red and 1 green, cored, thinly sliced, cut into matchsticks
    1 1/2 Tbsp fresh lemon juice, or less to taste
    3 cup(s) carrot(s), cut into matchsticks (many stores sell these precut)
    1/4 cup(s) chives, chopped
    1 Tbsp olive oil
    1 tsp sugar
    1/2 tsp table salt
    1/4 tsp black pepper, or more to taste
    2 oz feta cheese, French-variety suggested, crumbled

    Instructions
    Place apples in a large bowl and toss with lemon juice. Add carrots, chives, oil, sugar, salt, pepper and cheese; toss to mix thoroughly. Yields about 3/4 cup per serving.
    Notes
    If you want more tang, use blue cheese instead of French feta (could affect POINTS values).

  3. Thanks MamaSusie aka Susie-Loo-Who aka Momma!

    Merl – Let me know if there are any recipes that you want to try but would like a guinea pig to try first. I would be happy too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

