Fail

Green Monster fail. I was so excited to blog my breakfast this morning, as Green Monster smoothies have become a favorite. How did I come up with such an odd concoction? Simple I didn’t. I credit wonderful bloggers like Jenna (EatLiveRun) and Kath (KathEats) for teaching me the art of making a yummy Green Monster.

I wasn’t able to get to the grocery store last night to replenish our banana stock, but decided to give my Green monster a try anyways sans naner. I loaded up my blender with almond milk, vanilla protein powder, a mix of fresh and frozen mixed berries and lastly about 1.5 cups of spinach. I know what you are thinking, “I might vomit because that sounds disgusting” but seriously try it before you judge. With the right ingredients I swear you can’t taste the greens.

As you can tell from my title, the breakfast didn’t goes as planned. Immediately after hitting the liquefy button on my blender I knew something didn’t sound right and things weren’t movin’ and groovin’ like they usually do. That is also when I started to smell something burning and knew there wasn’t a Green Monster in my future. As you can tell from the picture, my (barely six month old) blender’s motor kicked the bucket and started smoking this morning!

*Can you see the smoke??? Craziness.

Sadly, I had no time to dwell on the situation as I was running late for work. So I did what any sane (and hungry) person would do, I strained the almond milk/protein powder mixture into my cup of coffee and went on my way. I will be searching for my warranty later this evening.

Although I don’t really measure out the ingredients for my Green Monsters, I’ll give it a try:

1 cup almond milk
1-2 tbsp protein powder of your choice (use more if you are scared about the spinach taste)
1/2 – 1 banana (frozen or fresh)
1-2 cups spinach (less if this is your first time)

*Use some ice if your banana isn’t frozen

I have also tried adding mixed berries, almond butter, avocado and apples to the basic green monster and so far all of the variations have been tasty. I just started adding protein powder to the mix after being skeptical of its purpose. I have found that with the addition of a little protein powder, I stay fuller for longer.

My workout this morning was a semi-fail. I got up early and cranked out 4 miles on the treadmill. I would like to say that it was a fantastic run and I felt like a gazelle, but I would be lying. It wasn’t a good running day and I wasn’t feeling it. However, the bright side is that I stuck with it and completed all 4 annoying miles. It helped that one of my favorite ‘Saved by the Bell’ episodes was on TV.  I wanted to try a speed workout, similar to the one I saw on Graduate Meghann’s blog however I am not nearly that fast. My run looked more like this:

0-25 mins  – 6.3
25-28 mins – 7.0
28-30 mins – 6.1
30-33 mins 7.0
33-35 mins 6.3
35-37 mins 7.0
37-40 mins 5.5 (start cool down)

I am excited for my bar league v-ball match tonight! I’ll try to snap some pics and capture our antics.

2 thoughts on “Fail

  1. …..I love you, but you are making me feel like a failure. You need to bring a sample of that smoothie to yoga, cuz I’m not brave enough to make that mess on my own.

  2. Pingback: Egg Challenge « Glorious Greens

Leave a Reply

