Basil and Bananas

No, not together. 🙂 This post will be quick as I am dog tired.

Tonight I had one thing on my mind, pesto. I haven’t made fresh pesto yet this summer and the bushel I purchased at the farmer’s market was calling to me. I gave in, of course.

I make a lighter pesto swapping FF sour cream for some of the olive oil, it helps cut down of the calories and fat without giving up too much on flavor. Although, I mostly eye ball my pesto here is my rough recipe.

Homemade Pesto (you will need a blender or food processor)

– 2-3 cups of fresh basil
– 1 tsp chopped/minced garlic
– 1-2 tbsp olive oil
– 3 tbsp FF sour cream
– 1-2 tsp lemon juice
– 2-3 tbsp roasted pine nuts
– 1-2 tsp of Parmesan cheese
– salt & pepper to taste

Combined the first 5 ingredients into your food processor. I generally start with the pulse option to get things mixed up and then switch to the regular speed. After these ingredients have mixed, I add the pine nuts and parm. This process takes about 5 minutes and then you are done.

I combined about 2-3 tbsp of pesto with sauted mushrooms (red wine, balsamic vinegar and pepper), spinach and spaghetti squash. This was alright, I think the spaghetti squash was too watery. I will try again tomorrow after the squash as cooled in the fridge.

Lastly, I will leave you with my dessert. This is one of my absolute favorite dessert that I have learned from the blogging community. It is delicious, easy and little kid/husband friendly.

Banana Soft Serve

Freeze 1-2 full bananas (I generally cut them before freezing. 2 to 2.5 easily feeds EJ and I)
Place frozen bananas into your food processor, hit start and let it run for about 5 minutes. You might need to hold onto the processor in the beginning and you should watch it to see if the consistency is right before the 5 mins are up. Trust me. You have to try this.

I like mine with almond butter, but chocolate sauce is good too!

*The reason the color is a bit off on mine is because I threw in the last of my almond dream chocolate ice cream. It was a nice addition.

Leave a Reply

