Spaghetti Squash Experiment

I just finished a Power Flow class and my muscles are gooey and wonderful. Yum. I was able to do my first bind in class today, the bound side angle!! I was stoked but I had to remain focused so I didn’t fall on my giddy head. šŸ™‚ Do you have a favorite yoga pose? My favorites are Tree pose (Vrksasana) and Chair pose (Utkatasana).

Tonight I wanted to test my theory about spaghetti squash (to see if it is less watery and more spaghetti-like after a day in the fridge) and in my opinion the squash was 10 times better today after chillin’ out in the fridge than yesterday.Ā  I decided to use my squash in a pasta dish that starred the mushrooms I got from the market.

I started off by letting some olive oil (1tsp) warm in a pan and then added about 3 tbsp of finely chopped red onions and let those sweat. Then comes the butter, yes butter. About 1 tsp and let this melt a bit.Ā  Then I added roughly 1 cup of mushrooms and salt and pepper to taste, stirring them around to make sure the flavors were evenly distributed. Next I let them cook down (no touching) for about 3 minutes. Once they have reduced and the pan is started to form a little bit of a crust on the bottom I added a few tsbp of red wine and turned the heat up to high for about 2 minutes. Finally, I added my spaghetti squash, basil and diced yellow summer squash to the pan. I served my pasta atop a small bed of spinach and sprinkled about 1-1.5 tsp of my goat cheese crumbles on top. OMG. OMG. I wanted to bathe in it. The buttery bite of goat cheese was such a great compliment to the red wine flavor. I was really sad when my plate was cleared.

Just looking at it again is making my mouth water. šŸ™‚

I finally updated my ‘about me’ section and added a picture over —> because I realized how creepy it is to not have a picture or a face to go with the words.

Now I’m off to write some papers. Yah!!

2 thoughts on “Spaghetti Squash Experiment

Leave a Reply

