Happy 4th of July

This weekend is like Christmas for EJ’s family and there is always something fun going on. On Friday, the holiday weekend was kicked off with the Fireman’s dance. The neighborhood that EJ’s parents live in, is actually zoned as a village and has its own school, pool, fire station, etc. All of the Johnson men are volunteer firefighters and basically run the 4th of July activities. The Fireman’s dance takes place inside the fire station (they pull all the trucks out) and it is such a fun/adorable tradition.

We started the evening with a wonderful dinner and a lot of jokes. The Johnson family dinner table is never lacking laughter. πŸ™‚

Red, white and blue desserts only πŸ™‚

I apologize for the horrible picture quality, they were all snapped with my phone. I still don’t always feel comfortable taking pictures of my food in public, yet. The pasta was prepared with very simple flavors but tasted great. You could taste lots of garlic, lemon and basil and really what else do you need.

Can't resist a boy in uniform.

The firemen take this dance seriously and they go all out for theΒ  decorations.

I’m getting ready to head to the bake/art sale that takes place in the fire station and then I have to get my game face on for the field games. Seriously, this little village within Madison, WI turns into this adorable small town full of pride and tradition for 4th of July and I love it. πŸ™‚

I will post a full weekend re-cap on Monday. As you can imagine this weekend’s eat haven’t exactly been healthy, but I have been really trying to be active daily. I hope everyone has a fun and safe 4th of July.

Leave a Reply

