Avocado Mousse meets Banana Soft Serve

I was able to get my 4 mile run in over lunch but opted to skip yoga to get cracking on my HW. It was the right decision and I even had time for some P90x.

My meals this week have been……interesting. I apologize, I’m trying to avoid a grocery trip because we are heading out-of-town this weekend. When I got home and checked out the veggie situation, I knew I was going to have to be creative to say the least. Thankfully, I bought portabella mushrooms from the market and got to work. I coated them in a some olive oil, balsamic vinegar, minced garlic and Penzeys rib rub.

I sautéed these bad boys and then last-minute decided to throw some turkey bacon into the mix as well. Look how nicely the mushrooms absorbed the liquids. Yum.

I found a package of frozen italian veggies in the freezer and decided that would work as the bed for my shrooms’n’bacon. On a whim, I threw about 1/2 cup of leftover angel hair spaghetti into the pan to soak up the remaining liquid.

A bit strange, but tasty and let’s face it crumbled goat cheese makes everything better. My sous-chef for the evening was thoroughly confused.

This is Ralphie, our lovable 10-month-old lab mix. Isn’t he adorable?

I bet you’re wondering about the title of this post, right? That would be referring to my fantastic dessert. I’ve already told you about my beloved banana soft serve, but I haven’t told you about my second favorite dessert; avocado mousse. I was craving banana soft serve and chocolate tonight which gave me an idea. 🙂

I was making dessert for one, so into the food processor went about 1/2-2/3 of a frozen banana. I let that spin for about a minute and then added 1/3 of an avocado, a few tbsp of almond and lastly a heaping spoonful of cocoa.

OMG. Please stop what you are doing and make this dessert for yourself, it was amazing. I loved the creamy consistency that the avocado added and because the banana is already really sweet I didn’t need to add any agave or sweetener to balance the cocoa. Honestly, I think I could get my father to eat this dessert.

I think I will dream about this tonight.

8 thoughts on “Avocado Mousse meets Banana Soft Serve

  1. Um, I’m not usually a commenter, but I have to say – this looks amazing! Thanks for the delish ideas to recover from my 4th of July binge…

  2. It’s 2:05 AM, and I couldn’t sleep, and now I really don’t think I could get back to sleep because all I want is that avocado banana soft serve right now…however, I know if I run the food processor, it will wake up my husband. Hmm, wonder if the neighbors would mind if I made it outside? 😉

    Your dinner looked really good too – lovely mix of items in there, and yes, crumbled goat cheese does indeed make everything better!

    Hope you make it until this weekend without hitting up the grocery store – looks like you’re doing a great job thus far, and I hope you enjoy your trip!

  3. Caroline – I feel privileged that you commented! I have tons of recipes that I want to share with you. I think I am going to start a “new recipe Thursday” and that way I can bring you creations to taste. 🙂 I hear you about the weekend binge, ugh it seemed like there was food and wonderful cocktails everywhere!

  4. Aunt Mary – You will love it! If you are making straight avocado mousse, I always add a little bit of sweetener to balance the cocoa. It is so yummy and such a good way to get a serving of healthy fat.

  5. I must try it, even tho I am not the chocoholic in the fam~the combination of ingredients sounds fab, and the picture is SO tempting . . . maybe tomorrow!

    • You will love it. Stay tuned, because I have a few new dessert recipes that I want to try that I think you would love as well. One is another spin off of the banana soft serve. 🙂

Leave a Reply

