Weekend Recovery

This weekend was gluttonous, to say the least.  Although I ramped up my activity level throughout the weekend, it would have taken a daily marathon to keep up with the copious amounts of food and alcohol constantly being offered. I wanted to come out of this weekend being balanced, knowing that I had indulged but also listened to my body and kept my meal portions in check. While, I do feel like I was able to keep my meals more in balance than I would have a few months ago, I didn’t listen to my stomach as much as I ate with my eyes.
After the long weekend my body was begging for a sweatfest and greens, so I’ve been listening. On Monday in an effort to avoid throwing away veggies from last week’s farmer market, I roasted the remaining greens and tossed the broccoli, zucchini and asparagus in a little olive oil and popped it into the oven for about 20 mins on 350. So last night when I got home, dinner prep was  a breeze. I re-heated my roasted veggies, placed them on a bed of spinach, then added some turkey bacon and roasted red pepper hummus. Wham, bam and thank you ma’am.
Although, this was good I knew it could be better. I went back into the kitchen and remembered that I still had some nutritional yeast as well as goat cheese crumbles. Yummm. I love when small adjustments make HUGE improvements. While this meal doesn’t look pretty, I assure you it was delicious and nutritious.
*When I first heard of nutritional yeast, I was more than confused and thought bloggers were putting bread yeast on their food. Nutritional yeast is VERY different and can usually be found in the bulk food section of your grocery store. I found some at Sentry in Madison, for local readers but I’m sure Whole Foods and Willy street co-op carry it as well.
This morning I was planning on hitting up 6 am Power flow, but after only 5 hours of sleep I didn’t even hear my alarm. Poor Ej! Last night, I had prepared overnight oats for breakfast and was excited to eat them in my bed rather than at my desk. This was my best batch of overnight oats yet and I can’t wait to make them again.
Overnight Oats
– 1/2 cup oats
– 1/3 cup greek yogurt (or the yogurt of your choice)
– 1/4 cup almond milk
– 1/2 frozen banana
Stir this up and leave this (in a container) overnight in the fridge. In the morning, heat and serve with your choice of toppings.

My toppings

I’ve seen a number of other bloggers obsess over pb & jelly oats and now I know why. They are awesome! I added about a 1 tbsp of almond butter and raspberry preserves to my oats and was VERY sad when my bowl was empty. While this breakfast is calorie dense, I’m still full 4 hours later so I don’t think I’ll even need a mid-morning snack.
I’m hoping to get a 4 mile run in over my lunch hour and then hit up Inner Fire for their 75 minute power flow after work. We shall see if I can squeeze everything in with work, school, and out-of-town friends visiting.
Leave a Reply

