Summertime Goals

Whoa! What a weekend. I am a complete sucker for weddings and I’ll be the first to admit they make me all mushy and reminiscent of our wedding  day and marriage. I need to write a wedding weekend re-cap because I have lots of pictures to share and restaurants to review but I also have a lot of homework due this evening so that post will need to wait until later this week.

After the past two weekends, I’ve been thinking a lot about my goal to get back in shape, to reach my “comfy” weight and find balance in my everyday life.  I know there are many of people who share my struggle with one or all of these goals. I have gone down the obsessive, destructive road before and although I am actively trying to lose weight I don’t want to focus on the number. I want to focus on how I feel, whether that feeling is strength from my hard work at the gym, confidence or happiness because I am finding the time to indulge my passions again.

Here is a list of my summertime goals that aren’t attached to a number:

1. Do a pull-up by the end of the summer. (you have to start somewhere)
2. Hold the crow pose for 15-20 seconds.
3. Give myself a compliment or a positive thought once a day.
4. Make a Vegan Cheesecake. (It looks really good and it won’t hurt my belly)
5. Run 2 miles under 17 minutes by September. (The fastest I’ve ever done this is 14 minutes and I don’t think I’ll ever be that bad-ass again)

I will likely be adding to this list, but those are the ones I’ve been keeping a mental note about. I have a secret to share, apparently I forgot that I started a blog and didn’t photograph breakfast OR lunch. Shameful.

In order to make-up for my lack of posts, I knew dinner needed to be good, really good. There is something that you all need to know about me, I love me some taco salads and tonight I was craving a yummy TS for dinner but the lack of fresh vegetable in our fridge made it nearly impossible to satisfy the cravings. You will also learn that I’m quite resourceful and will go to great length to satisfy my ridiculous cravings.

I would like to introduce the southwest turkey burger.

Southwest Turkey Burgers (4 small or 3 medium-large burgers)

– 10 oz of extra lean ground turkey
– 1/3 cup of salsa
– 1 shallot, finely chopped (next time I would use red or yellow onion but we are out)
– 1 carrot (finely chopped)

– 1 garlic clove (I like garlic paste)
– 1/3 cup of black beans (rinsed)
–  1 tbsp cumin
– black pepper to taste

Mix all of the ingredients, divided into 3-4 burger patties and fire up the grill.

It was perfect and exactly what I was craving. I served my southwest burger on a 1/2 a whole wheat wrap smeared with FF cream cheese + salsa along with some ranchero mixed veggies to balance my meal out. Mission accomplished.

The belly decided it was craving chocolate next and what belly wants, belly usually gets.

+

+

Frozen Bananas w/almond butter

=

This isn’t the prettiest picture or dip job, but the chocolate dipped bananas tasted wonderful. I melted the chocolate in the microwave using two bowls. In the larger bowl, I filled about 1/2 cup of water and then place my chocolate in the smaller bowl. I microwaved the chocolate for about 3 minutes, which seems to have been too long. Then I dipped my frozen banana slices into the melted chocolate and tried my best to coat them. The hot chocolate warmed the banana…..yumm.

Good night!

Leave a Reply

