My First Spring Roll

I’ve been seeing a lot of spring roll action in cooking magazines, blog, etc and knew I needed to try them out to see what all the hyped was about. Confession. Until about a month ago, I had never ever had a spring roll from a restaurant (thank you Caroline).  Anywho, I wanted seafood in my spring roll which created the first dilemma seeing as I live in non-coastal Wisconsin and I’m cheap. 🙂 I want to make sure I like a new recipe before I go all out with the ingredients, so I skimped. BIG Mistake, the rolls turned out wonderfully except for the crap tasted like butt. Ha ha ha kiddies, grow up. I was nervous to work with the delicate spring roll due to my massive man hands, but they were actually quite easy to work with and they don’t taste any different if they ripped.

My first spring roll

– cilantro
– red peppers
– shredded carrots
– shredded red cabbage
– avocado (this makes the roll)
– spinach (are you surprised)
– a squirt of lime juice
– canned crab (please avoid at all costs, ugh I’m getting nauseous just thinking about)

Such a light and delicious summertime dinner. This was good (minus the crab) but the dipping sauce made the meal.

Dipping sauce
– lime juice
– soy sauce (I used low sodium)
– garlic chili sauce
– minced garlic

I used 3 parts soy sauce, 1 part lime juice and the garlic chili sauce should be used to your spicy comfort. It was MONEY. Stay tuned for an upcoming chicken marinade with these flavors.

I had alot of ingredients leftover, so I made 2 extra rolls for my lunch today and instead of the god awful crab I used deli sliced turkey. They were SO much better!!

For tonight, I wanted something a bit light because I’ll be playing v-ball which really means drinking beer and having atleast a few wings.  I saw an open-faced sandwich recipe recently (Cooking light?) that involved ricotta cheese, a fried egg and arugula. I had two out of the three ingredients and it sounded good. I recently purchased ricotta cheese as part of my re-trying things kick, I have hated ricotta cheese since I was a child and besides meat it was about the only thing I wouldn’t eat. I made one side with FF cream cheese and the other with FF ricotta. I also wanted to add a few more “Leanne” ingredients to the sandwich. I  add about 1/4 of an avocado, chopped  cilantro and spinach to my toast and then got to work on my eggs. I decided to balance the meal I would have one fried egg and then cook up some egg whites  for the other side.

The FF cream cheese side got the friend egg, because I figured I didn’t want to waste a good fried egg if I hated the ricotta cheese.

This sandwich was out-of-this-world good and I didn’t hate the ricotta but it didn’t hold a candle to the fried egg and cream cheese combo. The ricotta didn’t add any depth to the sandwich while the cream cheese not only provided it’s rich texture but it’s wonderful tang. I definitely recommend trying this sandwich out.

Off to vball.

Leave a Reply

