Childhood Dinnertime Favorite

I was up at the butt crack today in order to finish studying and then take my exam, hoping that I would still have some time to enjoy the beautiful day.

Although I wasn’t that hungry, I knew that if I didn’t eat I would be starving during my timed exam so I whipped up some eggs, toast and a big cup of joe.

On left we have an over-easy egg on a bed of spinach w/goat cheese and some shy turkey bacon.
On the right, jam/cream cheese/egg whites on toast.

Clearly, I hated it. 🙂

This little number kept me full for hours and I wasn’t hungry until well into the later afternoon when I finished my exam. Speaking of, I really hope I passed the damn thing. After finishing, I decided that I deserved a break and that we needed a bunch of things and I should go out and get them. Let’s be serious, I really wanted to pick up all the ingredients to make a recipe remix from when I was a kid.

I went to not one, not two, but three different grocery stores in order to track down all the items we needed. If I have the time (who really has the time for 3 grocery store trips in one day) I like to pick up groceries and household items where they are the freshest and cheapest but I rarely have to time. Today, I decided to make the time in order to avoid studying. 🙂

I went to Trader Joe’s, Cub foods and Whole paycheck foods on mission to get all the ingredients for my Mexican Pizza recipe as well as some items I’ve been dying to try.

Once all of these items were tucked away neatly in their respective places, I got to crackin’ on my dinner. Tonight’s dinner menu was Mexican pizza. This was a favorite from childhood and for some reason I’ve never attempted to make for myself. Mama Susie was kind enough to email me the recipe earlier this week and I’ve been dying for some extra time to make it.

I love my mom and I love her “recipes” and I have realized that my “recipes” are a lot like hers. I use “recipes” very loosely because most of the time my mom wings it. For example, her instructions for the crust of the pizza I’m about to share were, “half bisquick and half corn muffin mix.” Um, geee thanks Susie but half of what? I’m actually very used to these types of instructions but others who are trying to replicate one of her tasty concoctions might not feel the same.

Mexican Pizza
Crust
1 cup – Bisquick (I used the complete brand that only requires water)
1 cup – Corn meal (I didn’t have corn muffin mix, I think either will work fine)
3/4 cup – water
1/4 cup – liquid egg whites

Mix this up, it should resemble thicker pancake batter. I used a 13 x 9 baking pan (don’t be an idiot like me and forget to spray the pan). Stick this into a pre-heated oven (375) for about 10-12 minutes.

Sauce and Base
– 1/2 a can of refried beans (I used black beans)
Р2/3 cup of mixed peppers saut̩ed (and seasoned with cumin, pepper, minced garlic and hungarian paprika)
– 1 1/2 cup of the cheese of your choice

Place this back into the over for about 5 minutes or until the cheese is melted.

The reason the cheese on the right side looks different is because I used Daiya cheese (dairy and soy free). I wanted to try it out after reading a number of blogs that said it tasted good and melted like real cheese. I am just glad it tasted better once cooked than it smelled and tasted straight from the bag. 🙂 It was okay and I would use it again in a Mexican or pasta dish, but I wouldn’t make a grilled cheese with it.

Top your pizza with whatever toppings tickle your fancy. I added fresh chives and cilantro along with diced onions, tomatoes, olives (on my side), spinach, avocado and a little bit of salsa. Sounds a little bit like everything and the kitchen sink.

This was just as good, if not better (with the modifications) than I remembered. I can’t believe it is already Sunday night and tomorrow is Monday. Bleh! I am going to try to accomplish another yoga 2x day tomorrow so my goal is to be in bed by 10:30.

4 thoughts on “Childhood Dinnertime Favorite

  1. mmmmmm….I am salivating! It is funny that I never thought to make that for my kids and that was a weekly meal in our house!!! I love your blog!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    • I know, right? I can’t believe I had forgotten. It is funny, I remembered this recipe when you and Elena were emailing about the dinners in NC. I remembered Mom making this when we were in NC with all the Franklin families.

  2. Glad that you enjoyed it and that it brought back some good ‘food memories’! It was always a favorite (even the picky brother ate it!!). We made it regularly at the beach – especially when we went with the Klinger’s. Ah, the beach . . . just around the corner! Night!

Leave a Reply

