Winner, winner and a chicken dinner

My goal was to be in bed by 10:30 tonight. Oops.

First things first, I want to share the highlight of my day which is also the “winner, winner” reference in my post title. Over my lunch break, I hit up my company’s gym per usual, however I went with a plan. I’ve been meaning to do a speed run for the past week and couldn’t work it in, but today the timing was perfect.

My plan was to run 4 miles, the first 2 as fast as possible and the last 2 nice and easy. I hopped on the treadmill and…

..

2 miles

=

16:40!!

Holy crap! A few weeks ago, I posted that my goal was to run 2 miles sub 17 min by September. It felt amazing. My body is so much stronger than I give it credit.

No worries, I already have a new goal. I’m running another half marathon with my hot mama of a sister on September 25 and I want to PR. I am scared to type this, but I want to run the half in under 2 hours. Ahhh, aim high, right?

I celebrated my treadmill victory with some manly meat and veggies cooked up on the grill.

Hot damn this was good and eating it outside with EJ made it better.

I think we have established that I love to cook, right? Well before I share the chicken marinade recipe,  I would like to share a story with you, in case anyone wasn’t quite convinced. 🙂

As I’ve mentioned, my mom (after relentless begging and pleading) starting letting me prep certain parts of dinner when I got home from elementary school and by middle school she had been defeated and I was cooking a good chunk of family dinners. One of the preparation projects that I was allowed to do was make the marinades and/or sauces for our dinners. When I emailed my mom to confirm the marinade recipe for tonight, we had very different versions. Interesting.

I’m pretty sure because I was unsupervised, that I took it upon myself to improve the recipes and carefully laid out instructions my mother had provided. Here is my version:

3 Month Marinade (because you can mix this up beforehand and keep it in your fridge for up to 3 months)

Equal Parts:
– lemon juice
– Worcestershire sauce
– chopped/minced garlic
– oil (I used about 1.5 tbsp of oil and the rest water)
– 1/4 part red wine vinegar

To taste
– lemon pepper
– regular pepper
– garlic & herb seasoning

Enjoy! G-night.

3 thoughts on “Winner, winner and a chicken dinner

Leave a Reply

