Yoga Therapy

A great way for me to get over my weekly case of the Mondays is Yoga. I was only able to accomplish the 6pm class today, because I turned off slept through all three of my alarms. Thank goodness my natural alarm clock is set to 7 am or this chica would have been late to work.

I really need to devote an entire blog entry to my experience with yoga and how my practice has changed and progressed in just two short months. However, tonight I’m up against a 11:59 HW assignment, so I’ll share the cliff notes version.

Yoga is changing me, specifically it is changing my relationship with my body. I know that sounds like a very bold statement, but it is 100% true. For a long time exercise was my way of controlling or dominating my body and yoga is teaching me to appreciate my body’s strength and listen to its needs. I’ve been able to carry that appreciation over into my other workouts and so far they have been more enjoyable.

Very sweaty (and smiley) wannabe yogi

WOW! I’m blinded by my own forehead, trust me it isn’t usually that glow-y. When I got home, I was STARVING and ready to eat Ralphie’s dog bones. I threw together a simple dinner,  an easy salad and wrap.

PACKERS Salad

I guess I’m truly a Wisconsin girl now, I even color coordinate my dinners. Into my bowl went some spinach, yellow squash, broccoli, yellow bell peppers and honey mustard dressing to top it off.

This salad was forced to share the limelight with this guy.

Don’t let looks fool you, this wrap may look all plain Jane but it was PHENOMENAL! High fiber whole wheat tortilla packed with crumbled goat cheese and deli sliced honey ham….please cue the Barry White music.

Over and out. (Tomorrow I’ll try to act less sleep deprived and more normal…maybe)

5 thoughts on “Yoga Therapy

  1. Have you tried Jillian Micahels Yoga Meltdown? I’m totally not a yogi, but I really liked it! I put my wraps in a pan too… it melts the cheese perfectly!

    • I haven’t but I have heard it good but still very Jillian-like, meaning not as relaxing as most yoga. I have the Biggest Loser yoga DVD with Bob (be still my heart) and I really like that. Thanks for the tip and for stopping by my blog. I’ll have to stop by yours and check it out. 🙂

  2. So happy you are getting into Yoga! It is so healthy and really really great for the body. I am working to try to get back into it, but have other exercise priorities at the time. Sooner or later, I’ll be back there!

    ~Alyssa

Leave a Reply

