Humble Pie

I am still impressed at what my family managed to cram into a short weekend and how many and far people traveled in order to be at our reunion.

After work, I was feeling stressed and cranky about how much homework I needed to accomplish tonight as well as the rest of this week, not to mentioned that I have to take an exam on my birthday. Gasp, huge sob story, right?

It is so easy to get caught up in our daily lives and the bs that doesn’t matter in the grand scheme. This evening I was humbled by a few people who helped remind me that I have a great life and wonderful people surrounding me.

I’m thankful to have a husband that reminds me that loving each other means that we sometimes have to tell each other the hard truths, a friend who is willing to take time out of his extremely busy schedule to help me with my little homework assignment and for my Madison bestie Kerri, she keeps me sane.  She knows what will make me feel better even when I can’t see it. Thank you.

My life is good.

EJ and I rolled back into Madtown around 8:30 pm last night, which meant there was no time for grocery shopping so until tomorrow evening meals will be a bit creative in this household.

Upon returning from a heart opening and very sweaty power flow class, I was STARVING. I surveyed the contents of our fridge and grabbed the remaining veggies. It felt like an episode of Dinner Impossible.

I had radishes, red cabbage and an orange pepper and needed dinner FAST.

I looked at the cabbage and starting dreaming about sauerkraut and immediately got an idea.

Cabbage with Vinegar

  • 2 cups cabbage (sliced)
  • 1/2 a medium onion, diced
  • 1 tbsp of olive oil
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1/4 – 1/8 cup of apple cider vinegar
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • radishes (optional, I sliced mine)

Add oil to the pan and let warm, then add the onion. Once the onion are translucent, add your sliced cabbage and radishes. Toss and cook on medium heat for 4-5 minutes. Next add the water and vinegar, place the lid over the pan and cook for 6-8 minutes.

I topped mine with some diced turkey bacon and orange pepper. This was a delicious and tangy side and went wonderfully with my goat cheese quesadilla.

Shoot. This post was intended to be longer, however with 8 minutes of battery life left and a computer that decided it no longer wants to accept charge from it’s charger, I must sign off.

Later gators.

Leave a Reply

