How do you wake up?

Alarm? Partner? Pup? Sledge Hammer? Chirping birds?

Mine is a combo of alarm and pup and Ralphie was in rare form this morning. I missed 6 am yoga this morning for the first Wednesday in almost 2 months. 😦 Sorry Megs!  I guess I was really tired.

Ralphie decided he wanted a better snuggling spot in the bed and proceeded to army crawl (not kidding) inch by inch from his spot at the foot of the bed until he was right between us in bed. I wish I would have taped this, but I was watching with one eye open.  I quickly realized he wasn’t trying to be cute or nice, and this was his ploy to wake me up so he could have breakfast. Poor Ralphie, I slept for another 40 minutes before I finally caved and fed him breakfast.

My morning routine on off days can be summed up in one word, brief. I’m up and out the door in about 20 minutes, which usually leaves me quite groggy. I might try walking for 20 minutes on my off days to help wake me up.

Recently, I’ve been trying to limit my coffee intake because back in the winter I was drinking around 2-3 cups a day! That wasn’t helping my mood or waistline, so now I start about 4 days with a single cup of Joe. My work is making my goal to limit my coffee intake a lot easier because the coffee is awful, it is like drinking flavored acid. Bleh.

Yet, I still drink it some days because I’m that desperate. Admitting you have a problem is the first step, right? The funny part is, we have a wonderful coffee maker at home with a program function, but I drink the coffee at work because it is convenient (i.e. I don’t have to make it) and free.

I think I need to invest in a coffee press thingy to keep at work. Does anyone have a recommendation, preferably cheap? I don’t think I can choke down anymore awful coffee.

One thought on “How do you wake up?

  1. Don’t sweat it!! We’ll try again next week 🙂 I have a Keurig and love it. Not cheap to buy but saves me over $300 a year on coffee shop coffee and tastes pretty decent.

Leave a Reply

