Workplace Wellness

I woke up feeling like Mack truck had run over me. I was congested, exhausted (still) and grumpy bc my little fur baby was taking up ALL of my leg room. Obviously, I need to start my day with a GM but I wanted to try a new combo that incorporated elements of avocado mousse.

Avocado Mousse GM

–          2.5 cups Spinach

–          1 cup Unsweetened Coconut Milk*

–          ½-2/3 frozen banana

–          1.5 Tbsp BioChem Vanilla Protein Powder

–           ¼ Avocado

–          1 Tbsp (heaping) Cocoa

–          Sweetener to taste

This GM might have been topped with Lucky Charms. J This bad boy was thick, almost too thick and BIG, so I was still fueled for my lunchtime run.  I love having salad for breakfast. J

While I was heating up my amazing leftover eggplant tortilla pizza, I saw my work’s weekly cafeteria menu posted on the fridge. We’ll get to the amazing leftovers in a minute.

I was intrigued because the soup I had yesterday was so filling and flavorful. I was, shocked, horrified and completely disappointed. There are so many ways my company attempts to encourage, support and educate a healthy lifestyle but the daily main entrée at the cafeteria is not one of them.

Today’s entrée was fried fish with French fries. Tomorrows? You have your choice of either 3 Cheese Grilled Cheese served with fries or Old fashioned tater tot casserole with dessert. My heart hurt to thinking about all of the people that have and are planning to consume those meals.

It is 2010 for goodness sake, by now every menu item should have the accompanying nutritional information.  The cafeteria does have a sandwich bar and salad bar, however the daily entrees are significantly cheaper than the sandwich meal or salad bar.  I really, really, really (last one was important) think that if this information was posted, people would modify their choices or at least modify the rest of their day to compensate for that selection.  I’m contemplating contacting our wellness committee and complaining…thoughts?

Does your work place provide healthy meal options or nutritional information for their daily menu items?

Back to your scheduled program, my lunch.

The leftover eggplant pizza was even better today, I think the flavor had time to blend and the “cheese” had time to marry. It was a great recovery meal after my 4.5 mile run over lunch. Yummy! I also munched on an amazingly juicy apple that was perfect for a little sweet and crunch to finish off my lunch.

For the next few days I’ll be a single lady. 😦 EJ and Ralphie are headed up to the Johnson Family cabin along with the rest of the Johnson crew. I’m so jealous but I just have to remind myself that I’ll be on my way up there in 2 short days.

Hopefully, I can find some shenanigans to myself into.. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Workplace Wellness

  1. My office encourages regular beer and donut consumption. It’s dangerous! Was the avocado flavor strong in the GM? I’m contemplating trying it, but I don’t know how I feel about avocados for breakfast.

    • Hi Jessica! Thanks for commenting. The avocado wasn’t even noticeable in the GM, which I was a bit disappointed about. I did notice that my GM was thicker and creamier than normal. I would suggest trying to find a combination that suits your palette and unique taste buds. Have you tried a regular spinach smoothie? If you can’t taste that spinach than I think you should go for it and try some avocado!

Leave a Reply

