The Simple Things in Life.

On Thursday afternoon, I disconnected with technology and set out on a 4 hour drive  up North to meet up with the rest of the Johnson clan. The Johnson cottage is quickly becoming one of my favorite places to spend a Summer day or week.  The pace up North is slower (in a good way), people are sparse but friendly and the views  surrounding are impressive.  My body has such a physical reaction as soon as I walk through the door and it is so hard to explain, but all at once my body relaxes. Worry and stress, what’s that?

This post is heavy on nature and very light on food. I relax on my eating and workouts as well. The cottage is all about relaxing and resetting.

The view from the porch

My absolute favorite place to drink my morning cup of coffee. I love hearing the water crashing into the dock underneath me while watching the sun dance onto of the water. I can’t help but smile.

The cottage also means quality time. No internet or TV to entertain us, no problem. We enjoy each other’s company the old-fashioned way, with real conversations, board games and lots of boat rides.

I finally got a chance to read the book my wonderful sister-in-law got me for my birthday and I couldn’t put it down. If you love running, heck if you just like it a little bit, go out and get yourself a copy.

[The book’s description] Full of incredible characters, amazing athletic achievements, cutting-edge science and, most of all, pure inspiration, Born to Run is an epic adventure that began with one simple question: Why does my foot hurt? In search of an answer, Christopher McDougall sets off to find a tribe of the world’s greatest distance runners and learn their secrets, and in the process shows us that everything we thought we knew about running is wrong.

We eventually made it back to Madison and I needed two things: to hydrate and veggies. I whipped up the quickest, poor man’s vegetable curry ever.

I started by roasting spaghetti squash and broccoli while unpacking and getting settled. Next, I sautéed a cup of frozen stir fry vegetables, mixed in the roasted broccoli.

[The coconut milk is a whole lot cheaper when you actually use the $1.00 off coupon, when you buy it.]

I added about 1/2 of coconut milk, 1/4 cup diced tomatoes and 2 tbsp curry powder and 1 tsp of paprika.

One thought on “The Simple Things in Life.

  1. So glad you enjoyed your relaxing weekend. I can relate on actually using those $1 off coupons – I always give off the Homer “doh” when I realize they’re still on the stuff after I bring them home!

Leave a Reply

