My Best Friend’s Wedding – Weekend Part I

I’ve been looking forward to this weekend for a long, long time. My long time La Crosse bestie is getting married this weekend and it’s a Green family affair. My whole family is attending the wedding and my brother is also singing. You better believe I will be uploading the video.

Anywho, Mama Green offered to pick me up on Thursday night and I was so excited to feed her, her first EVER green monster. Trust me, she wasn’t as excited as I was and I’m pretty sure she was trying to avoid it.  I made my newest concoction including vanilla protein powder and pumpkin butter and watched in anticipation as Mama Green took her first swig.

I’ll let the pictures do the talking.

She's saying, "That's gooooood"

SUCCESS! I literally had to fight her to get a few sips of the monster. We spent the remainder of the 2 hour car ride discussing topics ranging from the typical (new recipes and ingredients we are dying to try) to the non-typical sprinkler systems and before we knew it we had arrived. As I’ve already mentioned, we spent a fair amount of time discussing food and had already settled on wine and sushi.

Perfection.

However, as we rolled up to the restaurant I saw my favorite undercover La Crosse chef’s new restaurant, right next door. Kate’s on Street, in La Crosse is a MUST eat at restaurant if you are in town or even just passing through and want amazing California inspired Italian dishes. She has a successful restaurant in California about 10-15 year ago and realized she missed her family and came back to LAX.

She is genius with her ingredient pairings, and every dish receives the attention and care it deserves. I’ve been in love with her cooking style since college and I’m fairly certain my parents funded her children’s higher education with our tabs over the course of my 4-years.

What I loved about her new restaurant, Kate’s Pizza Amore is how different it is from her sister restaurant. Every detail was considered, down to the awesome wine bottle light fixtures and it exudes a hip yet homey vibe that is somehow perfectly fitting.

As you can tell from the name, Pizza is the star of this restaurant however the few entrees are, in my opinion, the hidden treasures of the restaurant.

I wanted to try everything, from her signature lasagna and mac’n’cheese down to the vegan veggie pizza. Yes, vegan pizza in La Crosse, WI. I was so proud.

I could gush for hours, this chick gets it. When patrons our staring at each other’s food drooling and asking what each other ordered, you know you’re doing something right. Her food is connecting random strangers, because they can’t help but talk about the flavors they are experiencing.

We finally settled on sharing an entrée, the Vegetarian Heaven and the Pollo Pesto individual sized pizza. Here are the descriptions:


This chick isn’t messing around, the Vegetarian Heaven was out of this world and one of the best things I’ve ever eaten. Yes, it was that good.

The following pictures don’t even do these dishes justice, they were amazing and comfort food down to the core.

Vegetarian Heaven – Very appropriately named.

Pollo Pesto – SO good!

It is hard to describe just how amazing this food was and how badly I needed a comforting meal like this after a tough week. The atmosphere was great, the company unbeatable and the food was fantastic. It was the perfect evening.

Okay, now I’m off to support the lovely bride! I’ll try to post some sneak peaks of the bride with my phone tomorrow, but the laptop is staying at my parents house.

4 thoughts on “My Best Friend’s Wedding – Weekend Part I

  1. I’m still dreaming about going back for some of that mac ‘n cheese, and maybe the lasagna, or the meat loaf – I could go on and on, and on, you know the rest~ thanks for the green monster, babe!

  2. Oh my gosh! You have no idea how excited I was to read a post about where I live let alone one of the hottest new restaurants in town! So glad you enjoyed Pizza Amore. I did a girls night out post about Pizza Amore about a month ago. I think I’ve been reading long distance blogs for too long. I’m just so giddy with excitment to see some else talk about the town (and food!) I love! Thanks for making my day!

  3. Can’t wait to see more pics from the wedding!!

    And I bought that same traveling cup from Target if it’s the one I think it is.

    OK, off to make your Risotto!

Leave a Reply

